British Studies at Northwestern

News and Announcements

Joel Mokyr (Economics, Northwestern) will present "The Remarkable Career of the British Industrial Revolution" on Tuesday, April 22 at 5 pm in Kresge 2-370.

On Thursday, May 8th, Matt Houlbrook (Birmingham) and Seth Koven (Rutgers) will be on campus for two events: 1) a morning seminar with British Cluster graduates (10-12) and 2) a lunchtime panel with Alex Owen (History), "Inside Stories," about how scholars approach the question of interiority and subjectivity. The panel will be held in Harris 108, 12:15-2:00 and lunch will be provided. The master-class will be held in the foyer of the Center for Historical Studies in the basement of Harris Hall.

Aileen Robinson (Theatre and Drama) has been awarded the International Dissertation Research Fellowship from the Social Sciences Research Council. She’ll be working in London-based archives for her project on the dissemination of scientific knowledge through lectures, apparatus magic shows, and pantomime.

Maha Jafri (English) has been awarded a Charlotte W. Newcombe fellowship and selected to be a Northwestern Presidential Fellow, a two-year postdoc funded by the President of the University. She has also just received Weinberg College's Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award.

Winter Jade Werner (English) won the 2012 MVSA Walter L. Arnstein Dissertation Prize in Victorian Studies. She has also been awarded a Charlotte W. Newcombe fellowship and a de Karmen fellowship for her research on Victorian missionaries and cosmopolitanism.

Viv Soni, Associate Professor of English, has won the Modern Language Association's annual prize for a first book for Mourning Happiness: Narrative and the Politics of Modernity (Cornell, 2010).

Tracy C. Davis, Barber Professor of Performing Arts, and Professor of English, Theatre, and Performance Studies, recently published The Broadview Anthology of Nineteenth-Century British Performance.


About the Graduate Cluster in British Studies

British Studies has a long and distinguished history at Northwestern. Among the many scholars who have taught the history and literature of Britain at Northwestern are W. H. Auden, Lacey Baldwin Smith, Richard Ellmann, Jean Hagstrum, Larry Lipking, Harold Perkin, and T. W. Heyck.

Today, with thriving graduate programs in Art History, Comparative Literary Studies, Economics, English, History, Musicology, Political Science, Sociology, and Theatre and Drama, Northwestern offers a vibrant interdisciplinary community of scholars working on Britain and its imperial past. This website details the requirements of the British Studies Cluster. It also brings together faculty and graduate students, lists relevant courses and events, and provides access to the many resources for British Studies that exist at the University and across Chicago.

British Studies Photos

Northwestern Presidential Fellows in British Studies

Maha Jafri (English, 2012-14)

Michael Slater (English, 2010-12)

Darcy Hughes Heuring (History, 2006-8)

Jenny Mann (English, 2004-6)

Leah Guenther (English, 2003-5)

Guy Ortolano (History, 2002-3)




April 17, 2014